Cookies help us to provide our website. By using the website, you agree that we set cookies.

CodeJam on the topic “SAP Leonardo Machine Learning” at consenso in Bielefeld – a successful event in every way!”

November 22, 2018

On Friday, 09th November 2018, consenso hosted the SAP CodeJam on the topic “SAP Leonardo Machine Learning with SAP HANA, express edition” in Bielefeld.

SAP Leonardo – what exactly is that? This is not really an easy question to answer. SAP Leonardo, described by SAP as “Digital Innovation System”, is actually not so much a system, but it is rather a pool of technologies, services and applications around digital innovations, such as the Internet of Things (IoT), machine learning, block chain, analytics, artificial intelligence (AI) and big data, as well as around innovative methods like design thinking.

The name giver: the universal talent Leonardo da Vinci, blessed with an innovative power across all sorts of disciplines. The objective: support of companies and organisations in their entire digital innovation strategy. With machine learning, the IoT, advanced analysis tools and other new technologies.

Taking the example “machine learning”, this so far rather seemingly theoretical approach should be put into praxis in the course of the SAP CodeJam.

Foto: Impressionen vom SAP CodeJam am 09.11.2018 bei consenso in Bielefeld

Professionally directed by CodeJam leader Abdel Dadouche (SAP), the almost 40 participants started with the installation of an SAP HANA express edition.

SAP Tutorial Navigator provided suitable training examples. Every participant could choose between creating a weather forecast app or a recommender app for films. Depending on the choice, appropriate example data were loaded into the HANA database – the basis for machine learning. Preconfigured algorithms use the available data – historical or real-time data – draw conclusions, derive forecasts and actions. In this case for weather forecasts and films, but also in many other areas. For quality controls in production via machine vision and algorithms for the identification of deviations. Or in the medical field, where algorithms can swiftly process more data and recognise more patterns than medical and research teams can do over many years. Only some examples for the varied applications of machine learning.

Important for the – “non-machine-based” – learning of the CodeJam participants: Everybody could define his/her own working speed. Abdel directly dealt with upcoming questions and supported – if necessary – in the implementation.

Optimal provisions were made for the trappings as well: at lunchtime, a tasteful warm buffet ensured new strength for the continuation of the coding session. And of course, the focus was not only on learning, but there was also sufficient time for networking, so that everybody interested could collect some new contacts before heading off towards the weekend.

A successful event in every way!

Photo: discover machine learning at SAP’s CodeJam in Bielefeld

From our competence centre Development
Categories: Machine Learning | SAP HANA | SAP Leonardo

CodeJam zum Thema „SAP Leonardo Machine Learning“ bei consenso in Bielefeld - ein rundum gelungenes Event!

22. November 2018

Am Freitag, den 09. November 2018 war consenso Gastgeber der SAP CodeJam zum Thema „SAP Leonardo Machine Learning with SAP HANA, express edition” in Bielefeld.

SAP Leonardo – was ist das eigentlich? Die Antwort hierauf zu finden, ist gar nicht so einfach. SAP Leonardo, von der SAP als „Digital Innovation System“ beschrieben, ist eigentlich weniger ein System, vielmehr handelt es sich dabei um einen Pool von Technologien, Services und Anwendungen rund um digitale Innovationen wie das Internet der Dinge (Internet of Things, IoT), Maschinelles Lernen, Blockchain, Analytics, Künstliche Intelligenz (Artificial Intelligence, AI) und Big Data sowie um innovative Methoden wie das Design Thinking.

Der Namensgeber: Das mit einer Innovationskraft über die verschiedensten Disziplinen hinweg ausgestattete Universaltalent Leonardo da Vinci. Das Ziel: Unterstützung von Unternehmen und Organisationen in ihrer gesamten digitalen Innovationsstrategie. Mit maschinellem Lernen, dem IoT, fortschrittlichen Analysewerkzeugen und anderen neuen Technologien.

Am Beispiel „Maschinelles Lernen“ sollte dieser bis hierher noch recht theoretisch anmutende Ansatz nun im Rahmen der SAP CodeJam in die Praxis überführt werden.

Foto: Impressionen vom SAP CodeJam am 09.11.2018 bei consenso in Bielefeld

Unter der professionellen Regie von CodeJam-Leitung Abdel Dadouche von der SAP installierten die insgesamt knapp 40 Teilnehmer zunächst eine SAP HANA Express Edition.

Schulungsbeispiele lieferte der SAP Tutorial Navigator. Jeder Teilnehmer hatte die Wahl zwischen der Erstellung einer Wetter Forecast-App oder einer Recommender-App für Filme. Je nach Wahl konnten passende Beispieldaten in die HANA-Datenbank geladen werden - die Basis maschinellen Lernens. Vorkonfigurierte Algorithmen nutzen die zur Verfügung stehenden Daten (Historien- oder Echtzeitdaten), ziehen Erkenntnisse daraus, leiten Prognosen und Aktionen daraus ab. Hier für Wettervorhersagen und Filmvorschläge, aber auch in vielen anderen Bereichen. Für Qualitätskontrollen in der Fertigung durch maschinelle Bildverarbeitung und Algorithmen für das Erkennen von Abweichungen. Oder im medizinischen Bereich, wo Algorithmen in kurzer Zeit mehr Daten verarbeiten und Muster erkennen können als Ärzte- und Forscherteams in jahrelanger Arbeit. Nur wenige Beispiele für die vielfältigen Einsatzmöglichkeiten von maschinellem Lernen.

Wichtig für das - nicht maschinelle - Lernen der CodeJam-Teilnehmer: Jeder konnte sein individuelles Arbeitstempo bestimmen. Aufkommende Fragen beantwortete Abdel direkt und unterstützte - wenn erforderlich - auch gleich bei der Umsetzung.

Aber auch für das Drumherum war gesorgt: Mittags gab es ein leckeres warmes Buffett zur Kräftigung, bevor es anschließend mit dem Coding weiterging. Und natürlich wurde nicht nur gelernt, sondern es gab auch ausreichend Gelegenheit für Networking, so dass jeder, der wollte, auch mit ein paar neuen Kontakten ins Wochenende starten konnte.

Ein rundum gelungenes Event!

Foto: Maschinelles Lernen kennenlernen auf der SAP CodeJam in Bielefeld

Aus unserem Competence Center Development
Rubriken: Machine Learning | SAP HANA | SAP Leonardo